

BASILICA OF THE NATIONAL SHRINE OF THE IMMACULATE CONCEPTION

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 16, 2024

Mary's Shrine Designated a Special Place of Pilgrimage for Jubilee Year 2025

The Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception in Washington, DC, is designated a special place of pilgrimage for Jubilee Year 2025 by the Administrative Committee of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This special designation allows the faithful to obtain the Jubilee Year Indulgence by making a pious pilgrimage or visit to Mary's Shrine.

The Most Reverend Timothy Broglio, Archbishop for the Military Services, USA, and President of the USCCB, observed: "Visiting the Basilica is a powerful way to take advantage of the grace of the Jubilee and to be filled with the hope that flows from the embrace of our Mother."

Monsignor Walter Rossi, Rector of the Basilica, stated, "I am grateful to the Administrative Committee for the privilege of designating Mary's Shrine as a special place of pilgrimage for the Holy Year. This honor will provide a moment of grace for all "Pilgrims of Hope" during the Jubilee Year and will be especially beneficial to those who are unable to travel to Rome to pass through the Holy Doors and obtain the Jubilee Indulgence."

Open 365 days a year, and offering five hours of confession each day, four daily Masses Monday through Saturday, and seven Masses for Sunday, including the Vigil Mass, Mary's Shrine is pleased to welcome "Pilgrims of Hope" during Jubilee Year 2025.

###

ABOUT THE BASILICA

The Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception is the largest Roman Catholic church in North America, and it is among the ten largest churches in the world. Dedicated to the patroness of the United States, the Blessed Virgin Mary under her title of the Immaculate Conception, the Basilica is the nation's preeminent Marian shrine and patronal church and has been designated a national sanctuary of prayer and pilgrimage. Among those who have visited the National Shrine during its 100-year history are Pope Francis, Pope Benedict XVI, Saint Pope John Paul II, and Saint Mother Teresa of Calcutta.